Killester College Logo Banner Killester College

Child Safety

Child Safety 

At Killester College we hold the care, safety and wellbeing of children and young people as a central and fundamental responsibility of our school. Our commitment is drawn from and inherent in the teaching and mission of Jesus Christ, with love, justice and the sanctity of each human person at the heart of the gospel (CECV Commitment Statement to Child Safety)

Killester College has zero tolerance for child abuse and is committed to the protection of all children from all forms of child abuse.

Killester College has developed the following Child Protection & Safety Policy. This policy provides the framework for:

Our Child Safety Code of Conduct outlines Killester College’s expectations of behaviours and boundaries for all adults interacting with students within our College community. This includes all teaching staff, non-teaching staff, Stewardship Council members, volunteers (direct and indirect), third party contractors, external education providers and parents/carers. The Code serves to protect students, reduce any opportunities for abuse or harm to occur, and promote child safety in the College environment.

Our Child Safety Officers - Make a Report.

Killester College has appointed the people listed below as the College's Child Safety Officers. Each Child Safety Officer is available to answer any questions that you may have with respect to our Child Protection and Safety Policy and the Child Protection Program.

The College's Child Safety Officers are your first point of contact for reporting child protection issues within the College. They receive special training that allows them to deal with child protection concerns both sensitively and effectively. ‘Child Abuse’ includes:

If you have any concern that a child may be experiencing any form of abuse, whether or not you have formed a belief on reasonable grounds that the abuse has occurred, you should immediately raise your concerns with one of our Child Safety Officers. The welfare and best interests of the child are paramount. Whenever there are concerns that a child is in immediate danger the Police should be called on 000. 

Name

Position

Contact Number

Email Address

Luana Doko

Student Development
Co-ordinator

 (03) 9582 6304

 ldoko@killester.vic.edu.au

Leanne Di Stefano

Principal

 (03) 9547 5000

 principal@killester.vic.edu.au

Michel Kennedy

Yr 7 Student Development
Leader

 (03) 9582 6307

 mkennedy@killester.vic.edu.au

Deanna Galante

Yr 8 Student Development
Leader

 (03) 9582 6308

 dgalante@killester.vic.edu.au

Andrew Bertschik

Yr 9 Student Development
Leader

 (03) 9582 6309

 abertschik@killester.vic.edu.au

Bronwen Auty

Yr 10 Student Development
Leader

 (03) 9582 6310

 bauty@killester.vic.edu.au

Stella Greig

Yr 11 Student Development
Leader

 (03) 9582 6311

 sgreig@killester.vic.edu.au

Kathleen Lawson

Yr 12 Student Development
Leader

(03) 9582 6312

klawson@killester.vic.edu.au

 

Identifying and Responding to All Forms of Abuse in Victorian Schools.

Child Safety contact details for agencies external to Killester College.